Feature Fridays – Christen Krumm

Today is about Christen Krumm.  She is a friend, #writenight pal, and author who’s imagination has helped me over multiple hurdles.  She guest blogged this week about “Giving a Darling the Axe,” and now we get to find out more about her!

Interview Questions:

1.  When did you decide to be a writer?

I think I was around 6 or 7. At the same time I wanted to be a doctor (I know right?), but I also knew that I ultimately wanted to be a mommy. I didn’t want to go through all the schooling and stop to be a mommy (all or nothing). I knew I wanted to be a writer because I could be anything I wanted to be through my characters.

2.  What genre do you write and why?

I write YA Fiction. I tried to write adult fiction for a while, and it was awful. It was like I was trying to cram myself into a box. Adult fiction is not my voice. I love YA Fiction so it just makes sense that I write it.

3.  What are your writing rituals, if any?

Coffee—but that’s kinda my life ritual so I’m not sure it really counts. I try not to have to many rituals because then it gives me excuses not to write, and I’m already pretty good at making those excuses…

4.  What inspires you?

Other writing, a good television show or movie, music, and life.

5.  The best thing about being a writer?

Creating.

6.  What tools do you use/have used to study the craft of writing. Do you have any formal training?

I have a BA in English, but I’m not really sure that qualifies as formal training. I used to think that you should read every book on the craft that you possibly could before you got started. While that isn’t necessarily a bad thing, there are hundreds of books on the craft—many on opposing sides. If you try to read to get it perfect, you’ll drive yourself crazy. I figure as long as you have your favorite books to study, you should be good.

7.  Would you rather read a good book or write a good book?

Yes.

8.  Best time of the day to write and why?

I have three kids, any time that I can sneak writing in is the best time to write.

9.  Do you write by the seat of your pants, plot first, or a little of both?

I’d have to say a little of both. I kinda pants it and then go back and plot it. Backwards probably, but it works for me!

10.  What keeps you motivated?

Coffee, my #WriteNight people, and getting the story out there.

11.  What are you currently reading? Any recommendations?

I’m about to dive into Chelsea Jacobs’ Happy to be Alive, Because. It is the perfect summer read—you should probably really track down a copy and read it (here I’ll make it easy): http://www.amazon.com/Happy-Alive-Because-Chelsea-Jacobs-ebook/dp/B00K1NQIWK/ref=ckrumm-20)

I will always and forever be recommending Shannon Dittemore’s Angel Eyes series, Keria Cass’ The Selection series, The Hunger Games, and anything by Lauren Oliver.

12.  A Bible verse that encourages you in your writing?

Philippians 4:6-7, 13

13.  Where can we find you online?

website – http://christenkrumm.com

Facebook – http://facebook.com/christenekrumm

Twitter – http://twitter.com/christenkrumm

Instagram – http://instagram.com/krummcake

Thank you, Christen for chatting with us! Leave a comment for Christen below, read her guest post, or check out more about her by clicking the links above.

Leave a Reply

